Email-is it really worth it?

So I just finished cleaning out my inbox.  I had a bunch of emails from working on a group presentation.  They were a bunch of doing this and finishing that.  I even had emails from last year that I just didn’t delete.  You know, those emails that you keep just in case they are important.  So instead of deleting them when I should have, I just spent half an hour going through around 100 old emails that I don’t need.  Oh well, at least it gave me something to blog about.

Don’t get me wrong, email is great, but it can also be a hassle.  The last couple of days of emailing my partner for this group presentation back and forth was stressful.  I volunteered to do the write-up for our paper, in which she was supposed to have her part to me by Sunday night, and I still don’t have it.  Granted, we got an extension and it is not due until next week, but we had talked about having it done for tomorrow (the day of our presentation-wish me luck).  Not emails fault but maybe if we had planned to meet face to face, like originally planned, rather than emailing back and forth, we could have had it done already.  Okay, enough of my ranting.  I cant really blame her because I just finished my part yesterday around five.  We’re supposed to be meeting later today to talk about the presentation so we’ll see if face to face is better than email (I think so).

Published in: on February 9, 2011 at 3:20 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://delorman.wordpress.com/2011/02/09/email-is-it-really-worth-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I agree e-mailing can be a big hassle when doing a group project, but I think it is also a time saver. Granted those annoying e-mails that say this will happen if you send this to 25 people fill my inbox quite often, and I do the same thing you do and keep all of those “important” e-mails. But with all the bad there is some good. E-mail is one way that I keep in touch with my family! It is also beneficial for work, like I get my schedule through e-mail and can discuss issues through e-mail so I have a record of all that happened.

    I agree that there is good and bad, but it definitely scuks to do group projects throught e-mail!


Leave a Reply

